Arjuna award is given for the excellence in : Sports

Arjuna award is given to prominent sports persons in India. Arjuna Award was introduced in : 1961

Best Picture Oscars Award at the 80th Annual Academy Awards in 2008 : No Country for Old Men

Booker prize is given to the field of : Fiction writing

Dada Saheb Phalke award is for the contribution to : Cinema

Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar is given in which field : Environment

Kalinga Prize is awarded by : UNESCO

Kalinga Prize, an International prize is awarded annually for the recognition of outstanding achievement in the interpretation and popularization of : Science

Nehru Award is instituted for : International understanding and peace

Nobel Prize award in Economics has been awarded from the year : 1969

Phalke award is given to persons of which field : Film

The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in the year : 1901

The first recipient of Gandhi Peace Prize was : Dr. Julius N. Nyerera

The first recipient of Kalinga Prize was : French physicist Louis de Broglie

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Chemistry is : Jacobus H. van't Hoff (Netherlands)

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Economic Science is : Ragnar Frisch (Norway) & Jan Tinbergen (Netherlands)

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Literature is : Sully Prudhomme (France)

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology is : Emil Adolph von Behring (Germany)

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Peace is : Jean Henri Dunant (Switzerland) & Frederic Passy (France)

The first winner of Nobel Prize in Physics is : Wilhelm C. Roentgen (Germany)

The first woman to recipient of Bharat Ratna was : Indira Gandhi

The founder of Nobel Prizes, Alfred Nobel belongs the country : Sweden

The highest peace time gallantry award in India : Ashok Chakra

The highest science award in India : S.S. Bhatnagar award

The Nobel Prizes were established by : Alfred Bernhard Nobel

The Ramon Magsaysay Award winner Shanta Sinha known as : an anti-child labour activist

The scientist who was conferred with all the three national awards: Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna : Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

The winner of the Jnanapeetam award for the first time : G. Sankara Kurup

U-Tant award is given for : Social Service

Who was the first Indian lady actress to receive the Padma Shri Award : Nargis Dutt

Who was the first Ramon Magsaysay Award winner from India : Acharya Vinoba Bhave

Who was the second winner of ‘Jnanapeetam Award’ : Tharasankar Banerjee

Posted by Guide Tuesday, April 28, 2009

1 Responses to General Knowledge About Awards

  1. Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in india.


Post a Comment

Subscribe for new posts


The informations published here is based on various media like Newspaper, Radio, Television & Internet. No responsibility whatsoever is taken for accuracy of facts and figures expressed. The Knowledge documents in this blog meant only to increase the general awareness of the readers. E&OE.